Building An Effective Banner Campaign

Banner advertising can dramatically help you increase traffic to your web site. Banner advertising can be a very cost effective marketing solution and can help you to gain access to millions of internet users. It can also prove to be a huge waste of time, even creating a net loss rather than increasing your bottom line. So we'll try to guide you onto the path to true results and a very successful Internet Marketing campaign using banner ads.

First things first: What's it going to cost you? Assuming you're going to design and building your own banners, you can still loose money on the cost of advertising if you're not careful. Work out the estimated cost of each banner advertising campaign:

Cost-per-Visitor: If you pay $10 per thousand impressions ($10/CPM), and you get a 2.0% click-through (20 visitors), your cost-per-visitor is $.50 ($10 per 20 visitors).

Cost-per-Sale: Now you know about what you're going to pay per visitor. So what does that amount to per sale? Well, if 1 in every 20 visitors buys your product, your cost per sale is $10.00.

Total Sale Amount : $9.95 USD Paypal's Fee Amount : -$0.59 USD Net Profit Amount : $9.36 USD

So if each sale of your product produces a gross profit of $9.36, then your net profit per-sale will be -$.64 ($9.36 gross profit - $10 cost-per-sale). This campaign is not profitable!

As you can see, something has to change in order to make a profit. That's why it's important to track and calculate every campaign. So what went wrong with this example?

-Paying too much for the banner space?

-Need a better click-through rate?

-Need to charge more for your product?

The truth is that only you have the information required to decide but at least at this point you're in a better position to make a qualified decision.

Return on Investment Ratios: Your return-on-investment (ROI), before non-marketing expenses, is 0.0% ($0.00 total net profits with a $10 investment).

Experiment by advertising on multiple sites or using different banners if your budget will allow it. Find the perfect campaigns that yield the highest ROI.

A few terms to know:

» CPM - Cost Per Impressions (The "M" comes from the Roman numeral for 1,000). So $20 CPM represents $20 per 1,000 displays of a banner). An Impressions is simply each time your banner is shown.

» CPC - Cost Per Click. You pay an agreed amount for each click-through to your site.

» Click-Through (CT) - A click on an ad which takes the viewer to another site.

» Click-Through Rate (CTR) - This is the number of people who click on an ad (banner or text link) divided by the number of displays of the ad, represented in percentages. Example: 500 people click on an ad that has been shown 10,000 times, which works out at: 500/10,000 X 100% = 5%.

» Run Of Site (ROS) - This means your banner will be displayed on all or most pages of the site.

Buying or Creating your own banners: You can find a graphic designer to create your banner or you can simply learn to design and build you own. We have done both on this site and our research shows almost equal results when using identical conditions. We're not going to give tutorials on banner design but we will offer a few tips to help get you started.

If you decide to purchase your banners: Do your research. There are many so called ' graphic designers' that have very little training or experience with any type of graphics much less internet marketing or banner advertising.

Get any promises or guarantees in writing. Keep in mind that anyone can setup shop online and many have no idea what they're doing to say the least.

Do it yourself banners: There are several options when it comes to creating your own banners. Again, we're not here to teach you how to design and build your own, just to guide you in the right direction.

Here are a few things to consider:
» Think through your design.
» Decide on a format.
» Flash or Animated.
» Image or HTML.
» The best banner size.
» Image load times.


Image or HTML? Well, most of the banners we see are image based, whether .gif, .jpg of flash. But there is another very simple alternative. The HTML banner. You can even combine images and HTML to create incredible banners. A couple benefits of using a HTML banner are:

» HTML banner will normally load faster.
» On a HTML banner, you can promote many links.

Banners sizes:

468 x 60.....Full banner
234 x 60.....Half banner
392 x 72.....Full banner with vertical navigation bar
120 x 240...Vertical banner
125 x 125...Square button
120 x 90.....Button #1
120 x 60.....Button #2
88 x 31.......Micro button


A few tips:

Use attractive and attention grabbing images. Keep your text short and simple.

Use proven key words like "free" and "now". "Free" is a very powerful incentive for the viewer to click on the button. Even the words "Click Here" can increase your click-through rate. Use a large font size for your message text. Create different versions of the banner. Test different banners to improve your click-through rate.

Animate your banner, but use as few frames as possible to keep the file size to a quick loading minimum. Test new banners with a Pay Per Click network, before you use them in Pay Per Impression campaigns. Many sites display two different banners on each page, while others display the same banner at the top "top fold" and bottom "bottom fold" of each page. When given a choice, it's usually best to choose the top fold of page because the viewer is more likely to see your banner. You can expect to pay a lot less for "bottom fold" of page banner spaces.

Brian Hawkins - Entrepreneur, Internet Marketer, Online business consultant, Author. Site owner and administrator of several sites including: http://www.extremesitepromotions.com/ and http://www.csc4u.com/

Brian Hawkins - Entrepreneur, Internet Marketer, Online business consultant, Author. Site owner and administrator of several sites including: http://www.extremesitepromotions.com/ and http://www.csc4u.com/

In The News:


pen paper and inkwell


cat break through


There is Hidden a Successful Formula in Everything

Although many say that things change on the net, still... Read More

Reselling Resold Resale Rights

What the heck am I talking about?Let me tell you... Read More

10 Marketing Tips for Entrepreneurs

Nothing happens in business until a sale is made. Marketing... Read More

Make Money With A Business Opportunity Online

There are so many business opportunities these days that promise... Read More

The Internet F-Word

For the last several months I've been collecting and organizing... Read More

How I Shot Myself In the Foot.. No, Wallet!

I need to let you in on some very important... Read More

Interactive Content ? Blogs, Forums, and Feedback ? What Does Your Web Site Need?

The business principle of continued contact and online relationship building... Read More

Paid Customer List On Autopilot?

How do you get a truckload of buyers eager to... Read More

Headlines Bring Sales--Where and How to Use Them - Part 1

Headlines are short vital statements to stimulate your potential customers... Read More

In Depth Analysis of a Successful Niche Product

The product is about teaching your parrot how to talk.... Read More

Does Your Internet Marketing Pull?

"Pull Marketing" has always been, and will continue to be... Read More

How To Let Your Customers Search For YOU! ? Part 1

Actually I love the techniques I will explain below. These... Read More

HOLY TRINITY: The Three Focal Points Of A Successful Online Venture

"For which one of you, when he wants to build... Read More

Three Key Steps to Invention Marketing

Ever see a new product and say to yourself, "Why... Read More

Automated Selling and Recruiting - A Simple System

Some years ago, on the recommendation of a friend, I... Read More

Who You Trust and Who You Dont!

For the last couple weeks I have been running a... Read More

Progress to Success

It was supposed to happen in thirty days. Buy the... Read More

An Introduction to Mortgage Marketing

The other day I had an appointment to meet with... Read More

Getting noticed on the Internet - Digital Marketing for Small Business

The Internet has grown from a small network of academics... Read More

Five Proven Methods For Increased Internet Sales

There are hundreds of ways that you can promote your... Read More

Becoming A Successful Internet Entrepreneur

You're motivated to run your own business, aren't you?If you're... Read More

The 2 Step Lead Generation Machine

Cold calling doesn't work, it's no fun and often you... Read More

Manipulate Your Visitors With Reverse Psychology

Many people say that it is easy to write a... Read More

9 Secrets to Kick Your Internet Marketing Efforts into Overdrive

Let's face it, most of us know the basics of... Read More

Summer?s Internet Traffic Jam

Summer is finally here, and while for many, summer implies... Read More

Online Advertising Techniques

Online advertising is necessary for your computer business to grow.... Read More

A Business Guide For The Very New Internet Entrepreneur

Did you recently buy your first computer and just started... Read More

How To Master Internet Marketing

What is the secret of being the best at Internet... Read More

Online Advertising Traffic and the First Law of Web Surfing

Hint: don't send send your online advertising traffic to your... Read More

Why Your Talents Alone Arent Getting You Anywhere Online

The bottom line is that there are plenty of really... Read More

The Ugly Side Of Internet Marketing, What The Gurus Wont Tell You!

Did that headline grab your attention?I have experimented with many... Read More

Creating Your Own Internet Marketing Product through a Home Based Business

There are thousands of marketing tool kits available online for... Read More

How To Be 100% Sure That Your New Product Is A Winner

Yes folks, there is a way of making absolutely certain-sure... Read More